Faith in the Debate

Image

I watched the vice presidential debate last night.  I have to say, I’m not really sure where my vote is going yet.  So I’m pretty interested in what everybody has to say on national television.  The one piece of last night’s debate that really got me fired up was the short segment on the role each Roman Catholic candidate’s faith plays in their views of abortion in this country.  Joe Biden stated,

“With regard to abortion, I accept my church’s position on abortion…life begins at conception in the church’s judgement. I accept it in my personal life. But I refuse to impose it on equally devout Christians and Muslims and Jews. I do not believe that we have a right to tell other people that – women – they can’t control their body. It’s a decision between them and their doctor. In my view, and in the Supreme Court, I’m not going to interfere with that.”

Let’s get to the root of what he is saying here.  Regardless of what you or I believe about abortion, Joe Biden is stating that he accepts that life begins at conception, and therefore abortion would be murdering that life.  However, he will not “impose” this view on others.  Let me paraphrase- “I accept that abortion is murder of an innocent life.  But I will not impose my views of murder on others who wish to exercise that right.”

WHAT?!?!

If you do not believe that life begins at conception, Biden, just say so.  But if you do, then I have to say it is weak and cowardly not to stand up to what you think is right in terms of the killing of lives that cannot defend themselves, in genocidal proportions.

No, I’m not biased at all.  😉

2 thoughts on “Faith in the Debate

  1. After this election the world may become a very exciting/dangerous place although we really don’t know what either candidate will actually do seeing how they are both liars… I mean great politicians as my father-in-law would say. The interesting thing is that many of the voters I know are decided if they will vote at all and as I always advise, go vote for the propositions and write-in my name Sean Trank for President. 😉

  2. Very good, very good! I hate it when politicians say things in a certain way so as to make it sound different from what they really mean.

Leave a Reply

