I never thought I’d be this ‘granola’, but…

Image

I’ve always had bad teeth.  “Soft” teeth, I prefer to say.  I honestly could not tell you how many fillings I currently have.  I think I do a good job of taking care of my teeth- I brush very well twice a day… ok, if we’re being totally transparent, maybe I could floss a little more.  In the past year or so, I’ve had more dental work done than usual.  While biting into a cinnamon bun one unsuspecting day, part of my tooth fell out!  This took me down a dental path of multiple large fillings, the threat of a root canal, and a shiny new crown.

There’s still a couple teeth that are overly sensitive that I think have some funny business going on, and this week one tooth began hurting down to the nerve!  I was due for a cleaning, so I decided to make the appointment.

Sean put the idea in my head from some documentary or something that teeth can actually heal themselves.  After a quick google search, I found an abundance of resources and testimonials of people actually curing their cavities!  There are different opinions even within this circle of thought, but I landed on Ramiel Nagel’s website based on his book, Cure Tooth Decay.  He also has a youtube video.

Basically, his thinking and personal research shows that teeth are capable of- and meant to- be strong against tooth decay and heal when there is a threat to the tooth.  He has found that a body rich in fat-soluble vitamins and has a proper calcium/phosphorous ratio will naturally allow the teeth to strengthen, and remineralize in cases where the tooth has been damaged.

WHAT?!

I was always taught that once teeth are damaged, there is no going back.  You have to drill out half your tooth and fill it with some other material, and pay a lot of money for it!  So… I’m going to try this.  The dentist today told me that everything looks ok (rare news for me!) except for one old filling that is starting to show decay underneath.  In a few weeks, I should go back for a new filling.

Image

In the meantime, I’m going to make a few changes to my diet in hopes of helping my teeth out, and preventing future problems!  I’ve cut sugar and flour out of my diet this week, and will continue to do so (except for special occasions).  I will start taking supplements:  fermented cod liver oil, butter oil, and calcium/magnesium.  I also found that Rainbow Grocery, a co-op in SF, carries raw milk, cheese, and coconut oil!  So I bought some today.  I also started brushing with baking soda and kosher salt, and rinsing with hydrogen peroxide.

Any thoughts?  I’m curious what other people think of this… I haven’t heard too much about it before this week.

Well, here’s to good teeth!  Hopefully I can save a few bucks in my next visit to the dentist.

2 thoughts on “I never thought I’d be this ‘granola’, but…

  1. You know what salt and baking soda are highly abrasive on teeth and can score or groove the enamel. Flossing daily and brushing after eating are the best for teeth. Fluoride strengthens the enamel. Try to get information from your dental professionals. They are up on the latest dental information. They’re not just after your money. You could be doing more harm then good. Oh my husband worked with a dentist for years and was trained in dental health in the Air Force. Hope this helps. Say hi to everyone. 😃

    • Thanks! Definitely the kind of feedback I’m looking for, because I’m just learning about this. I will alter my brushing plan. 🙂 I’m a little afraid of my dentist… Maybe I should find a different one to talk to! We are actually seeing the family this weekend- a somewhat rare occurrence these days it seems! It was great to see you guys while you were here- hope Gabe enjoyed his visit!

Leave a Reply

